Foodie Weekend!

I had some awesome food this weekend. Probably a little too much of it, but I couldn’t help myself. It was just so good.

Luckily I knew this was coming, so I was prepared to earn it. Saturday morning started with another great run. It was relatively short, only four miles, but a good portion of those miles were on the beach and up and down stairs. Although it increased the difficulty, it also made for a beautiful start to the day! The weather was perfect, sunny and already in the 60s (sorry to everyone getting snow right now!) when we started. We began and ended the run at a Starbucks and many of you know how near and dear to my heart this routine is! It was great to sit and drink coffee and talk with the ladies after we were done. Most of the women are either active duty or military spouses, but there are a few Okinawans in the group, as well, and the variety of backgrounds makes for such an interesting and diverse mix of people.

Saturday afternoon I ventured to the mall. It is massive, and very similar to American malls, but there is one thing they do far better here and that is their food court. There are over 40 restaurants to choose from, and they have all different types of food. There’s even a donut place, for those who have been horrified by my food selections thus far. After a lot of deliberation, I decided on a Korean place and tried bibimbap for the first time.

So. Good.

There are a few variations on the dish, but the one I tried is served in a hot stone bowl that contains rice, sautéed vegetables, marinated shaved beef, and a raw egg. You push the egg up against the bowl and the stone is so hot that it cooks the egg on contact. All bibimbap dishes are intended to be mixed together before you eat it, and with the stone dish, my rice got nice and crispy. What made it even better is the food court has an outdoor seating area that overlooks the water. Sounds too good to be true? I have photographic evidence:

image

Admittedly, not my best photo, but I was trying to not look too much like the picture-taking American.

The rest of my weekend was pretty routine, so I’ll skip over that part and get straight to dinner on Sunday. I had mentioned I was craving sushi, so a girl from the running group took me to one of her favorite spots. It was a conveyor belt sushi restaurant, which I love because you don’t have to choose-you can have a little bit of everything. This makes my inner fat kid so very happy.

For those that aren’t familiar, you go to your table and a little conveyor belt runs right next to you (or in front of you, depending on the restaurant). The belt has small plates with all different types of sushi on them, and when you see something you want, you just grab the plate off the belt and enjoy! You pay per plate, and this restaurant was crazy cheap-100 yen per plate, which is less than a dollar, and each plate had two pieces of sushi. Don’t see anything you want? No problem-there’s a tablet you can scroll through and make a selection from dozens of different options. A few minutes later the second, faster conveyor belt zooms your food right to your table. Sadly, I forgot to take pictures to share, so I guess I’ll just have to go back. The things I do for you all 😉

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

