It’s green time!

Time for our green tip for the week! My awesome sister gave me her copy of The Green Book by Elizabeth Rogers and Thomas Kostigen, a great little book of helpful and easy ways to help save money and energy while minimizing waste. These two tips, as well as the statistics regarding the potential benefits, are from that book:

1) Turn off the water when you brush your teeth. I am willing to bet most of us do this already, but if you ever forget, or if you haven’t gotten into the habit yet, it might be worth the effort. You could conserve up to 5 gallons of water per day (it does not mention if that is per person or per average household), and the total savings if everyone in the US made it a point to shut off the water: 1.5 billion gallons per day. Crazy.

2) If you flush the toilet one less time per day, you can save about 4.5 gallons of water per day. Per the book, 4.5 gallons of water is about as much as the average person in Africa uses for a whole day of cooking, cleaning, drinking and bathing. Maybe when we crush the bug and throw it in the toilet, it can stay there until the next time we flush…

I’m also going to add one additional suggestion. I do not have the statistics regarding turning off the shower water while you lather up, however it is something that I try to do at least every once in a while. I will be the first to admit I should be better about it, but I’m working on it. If you look at your shower head, many of them say how many gallons of water per minute they put out-most are about 2.5 gallons per minute. If you just turn off the tap three times a week for one minute, that’s 7.5 gallons of water-and that’s if you’re the only one in your house doing it!

 

These are not “challenges” like the ideas I am posting on the first of each month, where I will report back how I do at sticking to the goals. The Sunday posts are simply meant to be informative, and give us all some ideas regarding how we can do our part to conserve. Let me know if you give any of them a try, or if you already practice any of these. I would love to know how they impact everyone-are they a pain, or way easier than you thought? Does anyone see a difference in monthly bills after they make some changes? We would love to hear!

This entry was posted in Going green!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

