Snack attack solution

Craving something crunchy? Skip the chips and give this a try! The protein will help hold you over until the next meal, and the recipe is very low in saturated fat.

My promise to you all for when I return home (which is SOON!!) is that I will not post a recipe without trying it first-this way I can warn you about long prep times, expensive or hard to find ingredients, etc. However…roasting chickpeas in Afghanistan is tricky to say the least, so I’m going to rely on you all to let me know if this one is worth trying! A Facebook friend shared this healthy recipe for roasted and spicy chickpeas from Martha Stewarts Whole Living site. If you had told me even a year ago I’d be a Martha Stewart fan, I’d have punched you right in your nose, but there you have it…she wore me down. I’m also including the link because there were suggestions for how to tweak the recipe posted on the site.

 

Whole Living, January/February 2011
  • Yield: Makes 1 cup

Ingredients

  • One 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground hot paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
    Toss chickpeas with oil and
    spices until evenly coated.
    Spread on a rimmed baking
    sheet. Roast, shaking pan
    occasionally, until chickpeas
    are golden and crunchy,
    about 30 minutes. Let cool
    completely. Store in an airtight
    container up to 2 weeks.

     

    There was not any nutrition information listed on the site, so I looked up the chickpeas and vegetable oil in my calorie counter. 1 cup of chickpeas has about 210 calories and 3 grams of fat. 1 tbsp of vegetable oil has about 120 calories and 14 grams of fat (2 grams of saturated fat). As long as you split it over a couple of snacks, or share with a buddy, not bad considering all of the nutrients you are getting with it…and don’t forget, fat is a necessary part of a healthy diet!

This entry was posted in Recipe ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

